Unfinished Business


I painstakingly try to wrestle my unruly curls into braided pigtails before swiping on a layer of ruby red lipstick that rivals the sparkle of Dorothy’s legendary heels. I crack my knuckles, preparing my fingers for the flood of words they will soon type.

And then I sit here and stare at my damn computer screen, without one hint of an idea of how I’m going to do this.

Remember how I was all gung-ho about NaNoWriMo? Yeah, well that was three days ago.

I am stubborn, the stubbornest of the Stubborn, yet I have this little problem called never finishing anything. Seriously. I think the only thing I ever finished was my first short story in the third grade about a pet squirrel named Chippy who unfortunately had to be released back into the wild. I actually skipped recess to finish that story.

I WILL finish this book I’ve started that has no clear outline written or end in sight, and maybe after that I will find the strength to finish my many other unfinished projects- the 5 paintings sitting forlorny in the corner, the book I started writing almost a decade ago, the book-page wreath my Rockstar doesn’t understand. Maybe I just need everybody to go out to recess so I can finish…

10 Comments

Filed under Books, fiction, Humor, Life, Uncategorized, Work

10 responses to “Unfinished Business

  1. When you lose focus again, stop by my place for the post, and stay for the awards. 🙂 http://archonsden.wordpress.com/2013/11/08/woot-woot/#comment-3461

  2. Gung-ho about NaNoWriMo! I have no idea what the second part means…and yes, I’d like to know…but I am impressed with your rhyming abilities.

  3. I started mine… on my blog… so much work… hey… can I watch you wrestle with your unruly curls?

Leave a Reply

