A Conversation Between Cool People


So I met up with my Rockstar and his Daughter at the mall yesterday after a bizarrely weird day at work. As my Rockstar checked out the quality of the latest athletic shoes, the Daughter and I were sitting patiently in the try-on chairs provided, when I noticed a delightfully polka-dotted skirt she was wearing that I had never seen before. This was how the following conversation went…

Me: What a super-cute skirt you have on there!

Her: Yeah, I love it. My Mom says I’m starting to dress like you.

(Pause)

Me: Is that a good thing?

Her: She doesn’t think so.

(Another pause as I make a face in my head and think, “Well, la dee da.”)

Me: Oh? Why not?

Her: Well, before you were around, I used to wear jeans and normal stuff. She thinks I should wear that kind of stuff all the time and not cute fancy stuff like I want to wear. But I think I should be able to wear whatever I want, don’t you?

Me: Absolutely. After all, who wants to wear normal boring stuff?

Her: Not you and me, because we are so much cooler than normal people.

And here I thought I was having no influence on the kid….

 

5 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Children, Family, Fashion, Humor, Life, Uncategorized

5 responses to “A Conversation Between Cool People

  1. Well played and well done!

  2. Well FUCK, Sparkle – you touch everyone you come in contact with! You are highly influential and a trendsetter. How could you NOT be a major positive influence on her? And I know your kids are going to be the coolest kids on earth. Other than mine. So… have some.

Leave a Reply

